International Women’s Talmud Day

May 17, 2020

We’re excited to invite you to the third annual International Women’s Talmud Day: A day to encourage women’s Talmud study, to nurture community among women who study and teach Talmud, and to highlight women’s Talmud scholarship.

The theme of this year’s day is Masekhet Shabbat, which will also be the Masekhet we are up to in the Daf Yomi cycle.

Miriam Gedwiser will be teaching on behalf of Drisha from 4 – 5pm eastern.
A Substantial Caveat To The Torah?: Aggadot of the giving of the Torah on Shabbat 88a”  More info…

Full Schedule:

Opening Shiur
Shayna Abramson
12 pm Israel | 10 am GMT
www.facebook.com/InternationalWomensTalmudDay/

This is Torah and This is its Reward: The New Torah Teachers
Rabbi Rebecca Blady
12 pm Israel time / 10 am GMT
https://www.facebook.com/groups/JOFAUK/

Like Mountains Hanging by The Thread of a Hair
Gila Bieler-Hoch
2 pm Israel |12 pm GMT
www.facebook.com/InternationalWomensTalmudDay/

What is the Mishna & Talmud?
Dr. Lindsey Taylor-Guthartz
4 pm Israel | 2pm GMT | 9 am EST
https://www.facebook.com/groups/JOFAUK/

Yeshivat Maharat: Rabbanit Jenna Englander
4 pm Israel | 2 pm GMT | 9 am EST
https://www.facebook.com/wearemaharat/

Masekhet Megillah: Five Pathways to Sanctity
Rabba Dina Brawer
5 pm Israel | 3 pm GMT | 10 am EST
https://www.facebook.com/events/662602894296519/

Yeshivat Maharat: Rabbi Marianne Novak
5 pm Israel | 3 pm GMT | 10 pm EST
https://www.facebook.com/wearemaharat/

Rashbi and the Torah for Entering and Exiting the Cave
Rabbi Eryn London
6 pm Israel | 4 pm GMT | 11 am EST
https://www.facebook.com/groups/JOFAUK/

A Woman Walks Into A Bar: Confronting Mishnah Kiddushin
Rabbi Jane Kanarek
6:30 pm Israel | 4:30 pm GMT | 11:30 am EST
https://www.facebook.com/events/662602894296519/

Three Different Looks at Masekhet Shabbat

How many mitzvot for men and for women?
Rabbi Leah Shakdiel
8 pm Israel | 6 pm GMT | 1 pm EST
https://www.facebook.com/events/1987310878065723/

The Sanctity of Shabbat Food
Rabbanit Nechama Goldman Barash
8:30 pm Israel | 6:30 pm GMT | 1:30 pm EST
https://www.facebook.com/events/1987310878065723/

Emerging from Quarantine: R Shimon Bar Yochai and the Problem of Isolation
Devorah Wolf
9:00 pm Israel | 7:00 pm GMT | 2:00 pm EST
https://www.facebook.com/events/1987310878065723/

Hannah 2:0: On the Talmud’s radical re-reading of the worn and weary Hannah of Tanakh
Miriam Lorie
10 pm Israel | 8 pm GMT | 3 pm EST
https://www.facebook.com/groups/JOFAUK/
https://zoom.us/j/8617140077

A Substantial Caveat To The Torah?: Aggadot of the giving of the Torah on Shabbat 88a.
Miriam Gedwiser
11 pm Israel | 9 pm GMT | 4 pm EST
https://www.facebook.com/drishainstitute/
Zoom Link Password 508163

Yeshivat Maharat: Rabba Melissa Scholten-Gutierrez
11 pm Israel | 9 pm GMT | 4 pm EST
https://www.facebook.com/wearemaharat/

For more information visit: https://www.internationalwomenstalmudday.com/

This project is co-sponsored by Drisha Institute for Jewish Education, Maharat, JOFA, JOFA UK,

Additional sponsors include: Kehillat Yedidya Events, Beit Midrash Har’el בית מדרש הראל and הדרן – קול נשי בשיח התלמודי Hadran and Pardes Institute of Jewish Studies